This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
shiphorns's profile picture

Yet Another Quarry! My 3-layers-per-pass, variable-sized-hole excavator

Started by shiphorns, 01 February 2013 - 05:38 PM
shiphorns #1
Posted 01 February 2013 - 06:38 PM
Firstly, though I'm a career programmer, I'm a Lua noob and have only been using ComputerCraft for a week and a half as part of Feed The Beast. Like many before me, I got introduced to mining turtles by a co-worker who was using the TurtleOS excavate program to mine. I tried it too, and immediately saw the benefit. But what I also saw, is that it didn't do quite what I wanted. So, I decided to take a shot at writing a custom one. I wished to maintain reasonable backwards compatibility with 'excavate' for ease of use by those familiar with that program, so when given just 1 parameter (size) by program does a very similar thing (a square hole to bedrock). But here is what I changed:

What my Quarry 1.0b does differently from excavate:
  • It digs up to 3 layers in each pass, by taking advantage of the turtle's ability to dig forward, below and above itself. It's still fairly slow because it's the same number of dig operations, but it uses only about 1/3 the fuel of 'excavate', and is marginally faster. The fuel use is optimal if your quarry is a multiple of 3 layers deep, and you give the turtle plenty of fuel (see feature 3 below).
  • You can specify one, two or three dimensions for your quarry. If you supply 1 parameter, it digs a square that size to bedrock. if you supply 2 parameters, it digs a rectangle to bedrock with the length and width you supplied. If you supply all 3 parameters, you are specifying length by width by depth.