This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Bubba's profile picture

(Video) GUI Tutorials [New video: Metatable Basics]

Started by Bubba, 04 April 2013 - 06:59 PM
Bubba #1
Posted 04 April 2013 - 08:59 PM

This video series aims to cover some more advanced ways of going about GUI. It's my first time recording tutorials for anything, and I'm forcing myself to go without notes and the like just to get more comfortable with talking/thinking at the same time. It's difficult (and I'm sure it shows), but hopefully I can still manage to teach something useful.

Most Recent Video: (Video 4) - Metatable Basics
In this tutorial, I explain the concepts of Metatables and Object Oriented Programming (find a better explanation of OOP on Wikipedia - I know mine sucks!). I feel like my explanation of metamethods is not quite as fleshed out as I would like it to be, but oh well. I've recorded this one about five times now and I'm not going to do it again unless people have a lot of trouble understanding this one.

Here is a link to a full list of metamethods: http://lua-users.org...MetatableEvents

Please note that neither __gc nor __mode are available to you in ComputerCraft.

Email: render.still@gmail.com

Spoiler[media]http://youtu.be/SDLujCr0c5Y[/media]

Video 1: Clickable menu
Well I'm sure it's been done before and I'm sure it'll be done again but I've made a clickable menu tutorial. It's my first video tutorial so go easy on me.

The reason I made this was mainly because I wanted to get a grip on talking and writing code at the same time, but I also know that some people learn better by listening than by reading.

The commented code for the whole thing can be found here: http://pastebin.com/YsqzVY8d
Spoiler[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-O6pd9nhL8U&feature=youtu.be[/media]

Video 2: Draggable Text Objects