This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
elfin8er's profile picture

[WIP] CC Adventure Game

Started by elfin8er, 20 April 2013 - 06:04 AM
elfin8er #1
Posted 20 April 2013 - 08:04 AM
Not sure how many of these types of adventure games are out yet. Ones where you can move around in a large world, and interact with items. That's what I eventually want this game to be. Currently, I have basic login and register, as well as basic movement.

Originally I wanted to make this thing multiplayer. Players could interact with each other, and help each other in battles. Players could also buy, sell, and trade to and from other players. However, as I started coding it, I noticed it was very easily hackable. Someone could easily modify game's code, to easily modify anyone's game file. Players could then make themselves over powered, and make the game not fun for other users. At least in the Single Player version, if a player wants to cheat, they're not ruining for others. Eventually, I would love to make this game multiplayer, but just not yet.

I'm sort of learning lua as I go, so some things may not be done as well as they should be. This is a huge learning experience for me. I may run into many dips when programming it, but hopefully I can get some neat features in the game.

Features
  • Movement between rooms (N, S, E, W)
  • Login as a guest to play (anyone can login as you if they know your username)
  • Login to your minecraft account to play (requires your minecraft password, but should be secure. Pretty much done).
  • Player Creation
  • Look Command (Shows the name and description of the room you're in)
  • Player Stats (Currently only HP, MP and ATK)
  • /help command (Not finished)
  • Two Classes (Mage, and Warrior)
  • Some colors
Todo
  • Add More Features
  • Make a program that easily creates rooms for the game. (Possible in the future, allow anyone to submit rooms to be added the game).
  • Make installation automatic