This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
billysback's profile picture

Pixel Boy (for now) - A game for ComputerCraft

Started by billysback, 31 May 2013 - 07:01 AM
billysback #1
Posted 31 May 2013 - 09:01 AM
Pixel Boy (hopefully I can think of a better name by the time I finish it)

this is a game I have been working REALLY slowly on for the past like 2 months and have eventually finished the gameplay element, though I still need to finish the story (or start the story for that matter)

It is a puzzle/maze style game in which the objective is still unclear to me, but there are multiple levels, keys and doors and text boxes (so speech).

So far I have finished all of that and it is completely functional and am now going to work on a little storyline type thing because, to be honest, I like making stories so it will be a fun project for me. I made this post essentially so that the community could tell me what they think and hope to give me some pointers on how I could improve the gameplay whilst I'm doing the other stuff.

Now the game, the controls are:
Q/W to scroll down/up the textbox
E to close a textbox
arrow keys to move about

What the stuff means:
white blocks are obviously open space, blue Astrix's (*) are keys/switches, blue hashes (#) are switch doors, brown colons ( :)/> are doors to other levels.

The test shows off everything, though possibly not super obviously. Note that there is a basic lighting engine in place. I might do something with this in the future (like torches which constantly stay lit up)

Screenshots:
Spoiler

Download (pastebin):
http://pastebin.com/KiiAVLv7
Map maker:
http://pastebin.com/7WmLGhw4

Thanks for testing :P/>
Dlcruz129 #2
Posted 31 May 2013 - 10:09 AM
Nice!!
H4X0RZ #3
Posted 31 May 2013 - 10:27 AM
I like the Idea! :D/>
nitrogenfingers #4
Posted 01 June 2013 - 04:46 AM