This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Clem2095's profile picture

[Turtle] Automatic Floor Maker (Beginners)

Started by Clem2095, 25 July 2013 - 09:14 PM
Clem2095 #1
Posted 25 July 2013 - 11:14 PM
!!! WARNING !!!
Note: I have written this tutorial from my final code source (see pastebin below) and broke it up in steps retroactively
I cannot test each part of the code for now, but I will do as soon as I get back home tonight and will edit any error found.
If you experiment any error, post a comment and I will have a look in the meantime. (it should be alright though! Enjoy)

Introduction
Hello! I am pretty new to both the forum and Computer Craft but I would like share with you my first script as a tutorial for beginners (like me).
It is quite basic in both logic and usage but I do think it can be useful (I use it to build my base in survival!).

You can find the source code on my Pastebin (here) and a video on Youtube (here) which demonstrate the result (in creative mode)

Please note that this script/tutorial is intended for real beginners and can be improved in a lot of ways (which is planned), do not hesitate to comment or message me if you see something wrong or which can be improved (I wish to keep this tutorial for beginners however).

Context
I always say that we - coders - should code things which are useful for us, and that's a really good motivation to keep going on and it makes life easier.
My current Minecraft base (Playing on Feed the Beast Ultimate) is made from a Turtle 'excavation' from the surface (~70m) to the bedrock with dimensions of 16x16.

Making a base from a big hole on the ground can generate some problems:
  1. I have to manually build floors for each level of my base which can be boring,
  2. Making those floors can be quite dangerous (trust me I experienced the 50m fall few times before discovering the sneaking command :)/> )