This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
xBlizzDevious's profile picture

College/Uni project in C# - Any help?

Started by xBlizzDevious, 24 February 2014 - 04:50 PM
xBlizzDevious #1
Posted 24 February 2014 - 05:50 PM
Hey guys,

I'm doing a project in my college class (technically university) and was wondering if you guys here know C# and would be able to help with issues I get as I'm still a bit of a noob programmer and some of you have been really helpful with my ComputerCraft programmin issues.

So yeah, haven't got any issues yet, but we're not very far into the module. I'm sure we'll get many issues soon enough! I always do when I'm programming.
Engineer #2
Posted 24 February 2014 - 06:11 PM
Use stackoverflow.com and Google if nobody who knows c# replies on this topic.
I'm not a C# decv :P/>
xBlizzDevious #3
Posted 24 February 2014 - 06:50 PM
Use stackoverflow.com and Google if nobody who knows c# replies on this topic.
I'm not a C# decv :P/>

We use stackoverflow and Google a lot, but it's not the same as personally asking a question on a forum.

EDIT:
OK, well we've surprised ourselves with how well we're doing so far (we've been programming for maybe an hour or two), but we've come across two issues…

Does anyone know how we could check what key is pressed when it is pressed so that we can run code on the letter that the user has pressed?

Also, how does C# work in respect to navigating directories? IE. If we have the program in a folder and we want the program to access images, where would be best suited to store the files in relation to the program and how would we access the images from within the program? Using
picArray = "D:\aFolder\project\images\fileName";
works, but is not suitable for moving around. Placing it in the project's folder and using
picArray = "\project\images\file";
or
picArray = "\images\file";
doesn't work either. How would we go about getting to the right location with that?