This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
applesauce10189's profile picture

Apple API

Started by applesauce10189, 03 May 2014 - 08:32 PM
applesauce10189 #1
Posted 03 May 2014 - 10:32 PM
I'm new to coding and thought I'd make an API dedicated to making coding a little easier. So far it just has a few functions based off of repetitive things I've been putting into code. If you can think of a function to add tell me.

Reset

Usage: apple.reset()

Clears the screen and if it's colored it changes the colors to default. Also sets cursor to top left.

Receive

Usage: if apple.receive(message, ID) then…

Waits for specified message then returns true. Can optionally wait for ID to send that message.

http API Check

Usage: if apple.httpCheck() then…

Will return true or false based off of whether or not the HTTP API is enabled.

File Merge

Usage: apple.fMerge(file1, file2)

Takes the contents of file1 and file2 then combines them and puts them back in file1.

pastebin get AqUvfNXi apple
Edited on 05 May 2014 - 06:56 AM
logsys #2
Posted 03 May 2014 - 10:49 PM
Can you explain what this does?
applesauce10189 #3
Posted 03 May 2014 - 11:45 PM
Can you explain what this does?
It's an API I'm making just for the sake of making coding relatively easier. For now it just has things that have come in use for things I'm making in my single player world which is why I want suggestions. The individual functions are explained above.
Agoldfish #4
Posted 04 May 2014 - 12:42 AM
Add a check for http and color.
applesauce10189 #5
Posted 04 May 2014 - 02:29 AM
It doesn't use the http API, the end is the pastebin code to get the program. It already checks for color when resetting to default colors.

EDIT: Now that I know what you originally meant, just thought I'd let you know term.isColor() already checks whether or not it's color.
Edited on 04 May 2014 - 08:08 PM
Agoldfish #6
Posted 04 May 2014 - 02:56 AM