This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
wilcomega's profile picture

Wireless modem frequency and more

Started by wilcomega, 17 June 2014 - 10:23 AM
wilcomega #1
Posted 17 June 2014 - 12:23 PM
if this has been suggested before, i am very sorry, but i feel like this topic is more indepth than any other on this particlar topic

idea 1

i am not an expert on radio data transmission but i do know that you can trade in quality for range if you increase the frequency.
that is the idea, you would be able to set the frequency in the modem peripheral and based on that it would calculate the range, but of course range comes with a cost, teh higher the frequency the higher the chance is the packet gets lossed or gets corrupted uppon receiving.

since i dont really know much of the topic, this could be a replacement for channels or channels could exists on frequenties. of course you would be able to open up on multiple frequenties.

idea 2
along with this idea comes the following, why not have AM and FM too, for short and long range transmission, this mode you would be able to set in the modem itself.

idea 3
also the range of modems on a computer would add up per added modem. for example if you have 3 modems that would be 381 x 3 = [size=4]1143 meters/blocks, thats atleast 1 kilometer now, if you had 6 for the maximum that would be 6 x 381 = [/size][size=4]2286 [/size]

[size=4]if this multiple modem range system will be used, its a fair sollution to the very very very very short range modems currently have. or come up with some other formula to calculate the new range[/size][size=4] [/size][size=4]

idea 4

the next idea is to implement cell phone towers for the really long range as described below.
there are several ways of doing it,
1. new block, wich i am not a fan of.
2. use the multiple modem system from idea 3
3. use iron blocks as antenna to increase range of any modems.