This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
sci4me's profile picture

Computers have their own thread?

Started by sci4me, 11 October 2014 - 08:51 PM
sci4me #1
Posted 11 October 2014 - 10:51 PM
Okay, before you scream that its going to cause lag because of tons of computers, know this: it could be a CONFIG OPTION!

I really hate that CC only runs one Lua only executes one thread at a time. I'm not sure if this would cause a lot of problems or not.. but I think it could be done moderately easily… (yes, i'm a programmer, I know what I'm talking about).

Like I said, if you must make it a config option, fine. Or, if each computer can't have its own thread, why not distribute them?

One at a time is just too slow when you have a lot of computers running… :/ I got to the point where I would type and a few seconds later, the character would show up. Simply because I had a large number of computers running (fairly significant code as well…). But IMHO we should be able to do that.

Opinions? Any logical reason not to do this (besides difficulty)? Could this cause issues with Rednet (pretty sure you would just have to synchronize with world tick for that..)?
MKlegoman357 #2
Posted 11 October 2014 - 11:15 PM
I really like the idea of having this feature as a config option.

Just thought about another similar idea: there could be one LuaVM per x computers. So, if x is 10 and I have 20 computers running, there would be two LuaVMs and it would cause less computer lag.
sci4me #3
Posted 12 October 2014 - 12:27 AM
Well, there is a Lua VM per computer. The thing I'm talking about is the event queue thread. I.e. if I yield, it may yield to another computer since the event queue is handled on one thread. There is an event queue per computer of course though. (this is all my understanding of CC, Dan may have a better explanation).
Bomb Bloke #4
Posted 12 October 2014 - 02:00 AM