This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Konlab's profile picture

Opinion on different programming languages?

Started by Konlab, 17 October 2015 - 05:29 PM
Konlab #1
Posted 17 October 2015 - 07:29 PM
I'm curious what programming languages you know/want to learn and what's your opinion about them. What's your opinion about OOP or Stack-based languages?
FUNCTION MAN! #2
Posted 17 October 2015 - 07:42 PM
I'm a C and C++ developer, but I've recently picked up Scheme and Common Lisp. I prefer imperative and (pure) functional programming languages over OOP, and I think stack-based languages aren't practical enough to do nontrivial development in. I'm currently looking into learning Haskell.
Exerro #3
Posted 17 October 2015 - 07:49 PM
I mainly use Lua with CC, although I've used love2d and some other Lua frameworks too, and I've recently started using C++ and found it amazing. In Computing at school, we're often asked to use Python, which I despise. I much prefer OOP to functional programming, although I can see the benefits to both.
Konlab #4
Posted 17 October 2015 - 07:54 PM
I usually code in games, so I code in C# (Space Engineers' programmable block and Unity), Lua (CC), Java (Minecraft modding) and CRPL (Creeper reversed polish language, Creeper world 3). I prefer OOP over imperative and functional and I find Stack based languages interesting and useful for math.
Edited on 17 October 2015 - 05:55 PM
SquidDev #5
Posted 17 October 2015 - 07:55 PM
I love the .Net stack, so C# and F# are probably my favourite. The functional aspects of F# (unions, pattern matching, immutable by default, first class functions, currying) are pretty great, but C# still wins. Lambdas (and Linq) are pretty awesome.

C++ is pretty nice, though I have to Google before using anything - I probably write my most efficient code in C++ as I think about the implications of everything and how it could be more efficient. C however, ugghrhr - not a great fan of it.