This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
LDDestroier's profile picture

Progdor - An even easier way to bundle a folder into one file

Started by LDDestroier, 29 July 2016 - 11:45 PM
LDDestroier #1
Posted 30 July 2016 - 01:45 AM
After looking at Depman by CloudNinja, I figured "Hey, I've never tried this before." Why not give it a go?
Programmed over the course of about an hour, I give you…

PROGDOR

Burninating the competition since 2006

pastebin get YXx5jjMV progdor
std ld progdor progdor

Use progdor on a folder, and it will turn it into a file (defaultly by the same name)
Use progdor on that same file, and it will turn back into a folder (also defaultly by that same name)

Compression using CCA is enabled by default, but can be disabled by changing the 'doCompress' to false.

Screenshots:
SpoilerPackaged '/rom' into '/the_rom'

Contents of 'the_rom', because it's compressed (if it's 'true', then it's an empty folder)
Edited on 05 August 2016 - 05:43 AM
Lewisk3 #2
Posted 30 July 2016 - 09:12 AM
There is no compression, because that is hard. Forget about encryption. It does support empty folders, though, so that's something.

there is a simple solution for compressing, replace all spaces with byte(0) its a little smaller than byte(32) :)/>
Lol, i have started learning Assembly and stuff and now i realize what Lignum said. As 0 is still interpreted as an ASCII (8bit char) by computercraft.
Edited on 23 September 2016 - 12:00 AM
Lignum #3
Posted 30 July 2016 - 12:37 PM
there is a simple solution for compressing, replace all spaces with byte(0) its a little smaller than byte(32) :)/>

No it's not, a byte takes up 1 byte no matter what value it bears.
LDDestroier #4
Posted 30 July 2016 - 06:50 PM
I don't see compression as completely necessary, but if I find an easy compression API, I'll be sure to try to implement it. As long as it's lossless. Like, doesn't remove whitespace or something.
minizbot2012 #5