This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
bethsheba's profile picture

Nuclear Reactor Thought

Started by bethsheba, 21 July 2012 - 02:11 AM
bethsheba #1
Posted 21 July 2012 - 04:11 AM
Hello so i am new to using computer craft as i have just started to use tekkie and have a few questions that i figured would ask people that know what they are doing for help? So lets get started i am curious if it is possible to i believe write a program or script to control my nuclear reactors and display their information on a monitor that is connected to a computer. I will probably need help wiring everything correctly on tekkit also but i am learning as i go. I am not sure if any of this is possible but here is what i am looking to be displayed.

-Time of day
-reactor name (Reactor 1 or 2)
-Whether or not the reactor is on (True/False)
-How much power it is producing
-Temperature of the reactor
-And then a fail safe that if the reactor is overheating that it will automatically turn off and send a signal to a piston so it releases water.
-All of it to be scrolling from right to left if possible

I know that this is a lot of information on how to do and am not sure if it is even possible but i like to think big and any and all help is welcome and greatly appreciated. If anyone knows if this is possible or knows some of how to do it please post below and i will do my part to continue learning so i don't have to put it all on someone else.

Once again thanks for any response.

If you have any questions feel free to ask.
Darky_Alan #2
Posted 21 July 2012 - 06:22 AM
This is completely possible, a bit complicated, but possible, this is also coincidencially the project I'm working on.

- Don't think you have a way to see how much power it's producing.
- There are blocks to measure temperature that send a signal when x temperature has been reached.
- I'd suggest keeping your reactors submerged 24/7