This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
jell0zz's profile picture

Help! Program wont work

Started by jell0zz, 10 October 2012 - 02:26 PM
jell0zz #1
Posted 10 October 2012 - 04:26 PM
Hey guys,

I'm very new to the computercraft mod and i've tried to get this branchmining script to work, i got it from this site: http://www.punchwood.com/index.php?/topic/5192-tekkit-computercraft/ (if linking is forbidden i'll edit it out) but I just cant get it to work…

height = 2  
length = 10
lengthCount = 0
heightCount = 1
function digHeight()
turtle.dig()
turtle.forward()
lengthCount = lengthCount + 1
while heightCount < height do
turtle.digUp()
turtle.up()
heightCount = heightCount + 1
end
while heightCount > 1 do
turtle.down()
heightCount = heightCount - 1
end
end
while lengthCount < length do
digHeight()
end
turtle.turnLeft()
digHeight()
digHeight()
digHeight()
turtle.turnLeft()
lengthCount = 0
while lengthCount < length do
digHeight()
end
turtle.turnLeft()
digHeight()
digHeight()
digHeight()

So the problem i've been experiencing is the return: branchmine:19: attempt to compare __lt on nil and nil

Any idea what i've been doing wrong?

-Jell0zz
Cozzimoto #2
Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:10 PM
instead of using while loops, just use for loops. they are more easily maintained and you can pass how long you want your tunnel straight into the program with the tArgs{ … } method which is a table with the program arguments that you type after the program.

example would be gps host 234 45 748 where gps is the program and tArgs[1] is host, tArgs[2] would be 234 and so on and so forth
jell0zz #3
Posted 10 October 2012 - 05:49 PM
instead of using while loops, just use for loops. they are more easily maintained and you can pass how long you want your tunnel straight into the program with the tArgs{ … } method which is a table with the program arguments that you type after the program.