This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Ralnick's profile picture

Tower of Power

Started by Ralnick, 19 October 2012 - 11:45 PM
Ralnick #1
Posted 20 October 2012 - 01:45 AM
Hello Everyone,

As my first program I offer the Tower of Power.

I know it is very basic and I am sure there are other ways to make it, and to shorten the program, but I am still learning how.

The program is over 240 lines long.. so I will not put it on here.. it will be a link to Pastebin where you can view and if your still alive after seeing the horror you can download it.

pastebin

1Ugw4NYp

This is also going to be the first time I am posting to YouTube. So here is the a short Video to show you how it is made.
(Sorry for the extra noise from in game)

Video on YouTube

please all constructive criticism is welcome.
Matrixmage #2
Posted 20 October 2012 - 02:03 AM
You are right that you can shorten the program, and I got a little tip to help with that. If I'm correct the program repeats the same code over, the way you can shorten it is by creating a function of the code that needs to be repeated, and then use a "for" loop for as many times as you need it. Hope this suggestion helps!

EDIT: After watching the video I see its not the same thing repeating, but you can still have separate functions for each step then "for" loops. Once again, hope this helps!
Ralnick #3
Posted 20 October 2012 - 02:11 AM
thanks for that..

i am not sure how to work with Functions yet.. but I am doing more reading on it.. (I am sure this is easy for most but for some reason I am at a loss) old dogs and new tricks… sort of thing…
Matrixmage #4
Posted 20 October 2012 - 02:21 AM
A easy way of thinking of functions are that they are singular re-callable pieces of code.

Example:

function hi()
    print("Functions are awesome!")
end

hi()

This would print "Functions are awesome!", easy enough?