This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
DaRc's profile picture

Client/Server Password System

Started by DaRc, 10 January 2013 - 08:55 PM
DaRc #1
Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:55 PM
Morning everyone! I am still very new to ComputerCraft but am diving into it's depths pretty quick, trying to learn about as many of the API's as I can. I have watched hundreds of tutorials related to password coded door locks using CC 1.3 and CC 1.4. The basic password locks are kind of nice, but every once in a while I get a bit nervous about the security of my doors. Yesterday I build a completely automated Nuclear Reactor Facility (took me two weeks to plan it out and make it work right) xD, I placed a double Reinforced Stone Door with a computer coded lock. The lock is a multi variable lock that requires both a Username AND Password to match before the door will unlock. As previously noted… I'm kind of nervous about my doors, this facility required 60+ DIFFERENT parts to create and I would really hate to see somoeone break something expensive in there.

Here is what I would like to do:

Create a central server for storing/validating the username(s), password(s) entered through the client terminal connected to the door of the facility.

Allow 3 failed login attempts before completely disabling the terminal for 1 hour (86400 seconds).

I would like to maintin the current structure of the system in that, it still requires a match of BOTH variables to proceed through the the hall into the facility. Below is a copy of the current code running on that door. Please feel free to comment / corrent / suggest changes in the current design. ANY help with this project is MUCH appreciated. Thanks in advance.

--Disable Manual Termination
os.pullEvent = os.pullEventRaw
--Declare Variables
local username;
local password;
id = "Crysys";
key = "thewhiterabbit";
override= "6552180573395";
alarmSide = "back";
alarmTimeout = "3";
doorSide = "bottom";