This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Orginalet's profile picture

Rednet listening system not working as intended.

Started by Orginalet, 30 January 2013 - 06:11 AM
Orginalet #1
Posted 30 January 2013 - 07:11 AM
Title: Rednet listening system not working as intended.

Hello! I'm new to Computercraft and LUA so I have some questions that shouldn't be so hard to answer for you guys. I've been working on a project for a spleefing arena where a turtle will function as a repair bot. My code can be found here: http://pastebin.com/qvF864pv, my problem that I've encountered is that when I run the program the turtle returns the value "15" and then you go back into the terminal. How do I fix it and what is the problem with the code? My instinct tells me that I've done something wrong in the listen() function that is supposed to listen for incoming rednet signals…

Thanks in advance!
Orginalet

P.S I'm running the 1.3 version of Computercraft.
Mads #2
Posted 30 January 2013 - 08:15 AM
You are probably receiving a rednet message from a computer with the ID #15.
Orginalet #3
Posted 30 January 2013 - 08:56 AM
Thank you for the fast answer! Is there a way to work around this, like blocking a signal from that particular ID number?
Engineer #4
Posted 30 January 2013 - 09:14 AM
You could select wich ID's you want to receive.

local p1, p2 = rednet.receive()
if p1 == yourChoiceOfID and p2 == "CertainMessage" then
   print("Execute code")
elseif etc.
end
Orginalet #5
Posted 30 January 2013 - 09:33 AM
You could select wich ID's you want to receive.

local p1, p2 = rednet.receive()
if p1 == yourChoiceOfID and p2 == "CertainMessage" then
   print("Execute code")
elseif etc.
end

That's cool, I tried to edit my code into

function listen()
  while true do
   local id, mess = rednet.receive()
   if id == "2270" and mess == "go" then
	  print("Command GO received.")
	  os.sleep(1)
	  start()
   else print("Command not recognized. Or wrong ID")
   end