This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Xenogami's profile picture

Problems with yet another tree farming bot.

Started by Xenogami, 10 February 2013 - 01:58 PM
Xenogami #1
Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:58 PM
Hi there,

Im fairly new to this and I have been banging my head against this program for a few days now. The code is at http://pastebin.com/dS3vaDe3

Saplings go in slot 1, fuel goes in slot 2. I want it to harvest/plant 7 rows and 7 columns then return back to the start and wait 2 min while the trees regrow then start over.

It starts off fine, but every now and then it will just stop in the middle of a tree, some times going up the tree some times going down. It also won't change columns. There are probably several other bugs with it, but thats as far as I'v got in my testing.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give

Xeno
Lyqyd #2
Posted 11 February 2013 - 12:58 AM
Split into new topic.
Doyle3694 #3
Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:51 AM
first of :

while turtle.detectDown() == false do
Is a bad way of checking booleans for true or false, you are basically saying "If false is false return true", however, you can simply invert all booleans with "not", so that code would become

while not turtle.detectDown() do
That is about effiency and making your code easier to read, doesn't change much.

For the program, I cannnot spot a problem just looking at it. Your explanation is very weak, try to explain it further and maybe even add a screenshot or two? :)/> Also, 6 space indentions are really hard to read, atleast imo :)/>

EDIT: reading through your code some more, I found that you should remove the turtle.forward() in the end of your nextColumn() function. It will make him go 1 more step forward than I think you want him too.
Xenogami #4
Posted 11 February 2013 - 05:35 AM
Thanks for the advice with the booleans, I made that change in the code.