This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
andrewhopps's profile picture

Expected number but not seeking a number?

Started by andrewhopps, 16 March 2013 - 09:37 AM
andrewhopps #1
Posted 16 March 2013 - 10:37 AM

mon.write("Was that a hit?")
function hitormiss()
  local event, param1 = os.pullEvent("char")
  if event == "char" and param1 == "y" or param1 == "Y" then	--Expected number supposedly occurs on this line
	mon.setTextColor(colors.green)
	mon.setTextScale(5)
	mon.write("HIT!")
	os.sleep(3)
	mon.setTextColor(colors.white)
	mon.setTextScale(1)
  elseif event == "char" and param1 == "n" or param1 == "N" then
	mon.setTextColor(colors.red)
	mon.setTextScale(5)
	mon.write("Miss.")
	os.sleep(3)
	mon.setTextColor(colors.white)
	mon.setTextScale(1)
  else
	mon.write("Please enter Y or N.")
	os.sleep(2)
  end
end
hitormiss()

I am fairly new to lua, and have no idea why this keeps returning Expected Number every single time. Perhaps my code is jumbled after deleting and retyping things back and forth for the literal past 3 hours. Thank you.

** I am aware that my code doesn't loop properly or whatever, I am only worried about getting rid of the error preventing me from testing any further **
Lyqyd #2
Posted 16 March 2013 - 11:00 AM
Split into new topic.

I don't see where you define green, Red or white (and mixing case is always a bad idea for groups of variables like that). Perhaps you meant colors.green, colors.red, and colors.white?
andrewhopps #3
Posted 16 March 2013 - 11:07 AM
Split into new topic.

I don't see where you define green, Red or white (and mixing case is always a bad idea for groups of variables like that). Perhaps you meant colors.green, colors.red, and colors.white?

fixed to colors.green, colors.red, and colors.white no error, but the text doesn't change or even show after selecting an option

** edit: Was missing a couple mon.clear() so the text was pushed too far off the screen to notice. Thank you!