This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
xTotalG's profile picture

Help with redstone input and computers

Started by xTotalG, 02 April 2013 - 04:26 AM
xTotalG #1
Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:26 AM
First things first: Yes I am fully aware that I am a complete noob to computercraft and I'm sure there is a very easy answer to my question and all help is appreciated. :)/>

I was wondering if there was anyway that if I ran a redstone input (briefly powered repeater) to a computer that in turn it would run a command.

For example: Computer receives a redstone input and it runs the program Readbee.
All help is appreciated!
SuicidalSTDz #2
Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:31 AM
while true do
 local ev = os.pullEvent() --fire an event
 if ev == "redstone" then --if the returned event is a "redstone" event
  --run your script here. In your case: shell.run("ReadBee")
 end
end
No question is stupid, that is, unless you are asking what mod this is..
xTotalG #3
Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:50 AM
while true do
end
end

Its says in return "bee:2: attempt to call nil"
SuicidalSTDz #4
Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:05 AM
Are you using different code or code combined with the above code? If so, please post it. I don't see any problem with the script above.
LBPHacker #5
Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:06 AM
while true do
end
end

If the 2nd line is the one with .pullEvent: No way, you've done something wrong.

EDIT: Okay, Suicidal is online, I've realized…
SuicidalSTDz #6
Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:07 AM
Heh, I was replying to another post so I just noticed this one. A ninja I am :ph34r:/>
xTotalG #7
Posted 02 April 2013 - 07:10 AM
Are you using different code or code combined with the above code? If so, please post it. I don't see any problem with the script above.
while true do
end
end

If the 2nd line is the one with .pullEvent: No way, you've done something wrong.

I have no code besides the code you have provided. I have triple checked for any errors on my end.