This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
joaopada's profile picture

[Lua][Question] A question regarding Lua (or, can I do this?)

Started by joaopada, 13 April 2013 - 11:34 PM
joaopada #1
Posted 14 April 2013 - 01:34 AM
Hi. I just installed computer craft, and messed around with turtles. I was able to make a program that will get Flint for me.

http://pastebin.com/5TvXRhQV
That's the code. It's VERY simple, I am really a beginner with ComputerCraft so I made the code with what I know.

Currently it only has one issue. When it changes to slot 3, it keeps going back and forth from slot 3 to slot 2.
I know why this happens, but I must ask you if it is possible to assign a function to a "while" loop, so when the turtle changes to slot 3 it keeps placing and digging the gravel.

Question 2: How do I make it so when the turtle detects that the current slot has no gravel, and then moves on to the next one?
Question 3: And how do I make it so when the turtle uses up all gravel in all slots, it goes get gravel at a chest?

I'm sorry for so many questions, but I would really appreciate it if you could tell me how to make them possible. Thank you!
Engineer #2
Posted 14 April 2013 - 01:53 AM
The issue is what you are having, when you dig the gravel up again, the gravel goes into the first available slot, wich is slot 2.

Question 2:
you can use the turtle.getItemCount(slotNumber) function. This will return 0 when the slot is empty.

Question 3:
Well combined with the previous question I made the following script, with explanation:

if turtle.getItemCount(2) == 0 then -- Check if the slot is empty
   -- Face the chest
   turtle.suck() -- this will grab the first available stack in the chest
end -- end the if statement.

Those questions being answered, I made the following script for you:

while true do
	if turtle.getItemCount(1) == 0 then
		turtle.suck()
		if turtle.getItemCount(1) == 0 then
			print("Out of gravel")