This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
grand_mind1's profile picture

Turtle Strip mine

Started by grand_mind1, 03 May 2013 - 04:42 PM
grand_mind1 #1
Posted 03 May 2013 - 06:42 PM
I am trying to make a little stripmine program. It's not the best as I am new to programming in general but it has been going well so far. I recently decided to try to make it better and more elegant.
New code:
http://pastebin.com/idQC12J9
I don't know what I've done wrong but the turtle just mines a 1x1 spaces infinitely forward. I'm sure it has something to do with my forward function but I couldn't figure it out.
Help is appreciated!
Thanks! :D/>
The_Awe35 #2
Posted 03 May 2013 - 09:44 PM
1. Use this instead of your forward function

local function forward()
	while not turtle.forward() do
	 turtle.dig()
	end
turtle.digUp()
turtle.digDown()
end

2. the least space you can have between torches without spawing mobs is 8, so I would suggest changing your torch function, but It doesn't matter much either way.
Edit: I see now that you are only placing the torch at the end of the tunnel. Not a great idea.
I would do it like this:

local function row(dist)
  for i = 1,dist do
  forward()
	if i%8==0 and torch ~= "n" then
	turtle.select(tonumber(torch))
	turlte.placeUp() -- no need for a dig up because forward() already did that for me
	end
  end
end

In case you didn't know, "%" makes a remainder. eg
7%3 = 1
8%3 = 2
9%3 = 0
So when I did i%8, I checked if the loop I was on was divisible by 8, and if it was then it would place a torch.

3. In your last while loop, you never increase curlen. I suggest doing a for loop like

for i = curlen, tunlen do
--stuff
end

Edit 2: I missed it before, but you did do something wrong on your forward() function. You need to have "curforw = curforw+1" inside of the while loop (just move that one "end" up) , but I would use the new forward function i showed you anyway.
Edited on 03 May 2013 - 08:20 PM
grand_mind1 #3