This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
NullSchritt's profile picture

Calling a command, and then getting the text it returns?

Started by NullSchritt, 05 May 2013 - 02:59 AM
NullSchritt #1
Posted 05 May 2013 - 04:59 AM
Hello, I am a total noob, so forgive me if this is a simple question, but how would I go about running a command, and then receiving it's text output, so I could display it on the screen?

I want to make a program that automatically dials 1 stargate to another on my server, by executing a command, the command then says back the status of the dialing process as it dials (normally when a person executes the command, it sends personal messages to them telling them the dailing status of the gate) [chevron 1 locked, chevron 2 locked, chevron 3 locked, dail attempt failed <reason>]

I was wondering how I would go about displaying each line of text on an attached monitor as it was sent back to the computer executing the command.

Really appreciate any advice, thanks!
Shnupbups #2
Posted 05 May 2013 - 05:01 AM

print(someFunction()) --# Make sure you define a function named someFunction first, or edit this!
BOOM! One-liner.
EDIT: Or if you want to keep the data after you print it:

local data = someFunction() --# Make sure you define a function named someFunction first, or edit this!
print(data)
--# Feel free to use the variable 'data' anywhere after this (though only within this program)
Bubba #3
Posted 05 May 2013 - 09:21 AM
In addition to Shnupbups response, you need to use a "return" in the function if you want to get some value from it.

local function getValue()
  --Do some stuff here...
  return "This is a value"
end

local value = getValue()
print(value) --Prints "This is a value"
Lyqyd #4
Posted 05 May 2013 - 12:26 PM
Not at all what was being asked, guys. He wants to handle these responses over time, not just once.