This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Trikk's profile picture

Wireless Touchscreen Turtle Control

Started by Trikk, 07 May 2013 - 12:15 PM
Trikk #1
Posted 07 May 2013 - 02:15 PM
Hello, I am new to the computer craft scene. I have written some of my own programs including one that controls a wireless turtle from my computer. The downside is I can only see the turtle on the side of my screen so I'm hoping to find a way to turn a monitor into a remote. So for example the monitor would have Up, Down, Left, Right, Forward, Backward, Dig, ect. When you click, the command is sent to the turtle and then it moves. I've googled and roamed the forums but cannot seem to find anything that will point me in the direction I'm wanting to go. If someone could point me in the direction that would be great. I already have some code written, but as I said I want to use a monitor to control the turtle instead of typing in commands.
Lyqyd #2
Posted 07 May 2013 - 05:05 PM
Split into new topic.
SadKingBilly #3
Posted 07 May 2013 - 05:34 PM
It sounds like you'd rather we point you in the right direction than just give you some code (which is the attitude you should have), so here goes. First, read about the "monitor_touch" event on the wiki, which is used with os.pullEvent(). Then read about term.redirect() to run your program on a monitor instead of the computer. It's basically the same thing as you already have, really. To be honest, I'm not sure myself if you actually need to redirect the output to the monitor or not. But you will need to wrap your monitor using peripheral.wrap() before the computer will handle any monitor_touch events.

term.redirect()
os.pullEvent()
monitor_touch
peripheral.wrap()
Lyqyd #4
Posted 07 May 2013 - 05:53 PM
But you will need to wrap your monitor using peripheral.wrap() before the computer will handle any monitor_touch events.

This is not at all the case.
SadKingBilly #5
Posted 07 May 2013 - 06:01 PM