This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Jerreke's profile picture

A question about networks

Started by Jerreke, 09 May 2013 - 03:06 PM
Jerreke #1
Posted 09 May 2013 - 05:06 PM
Oke so i'm completely new to computercraft and programming in general so i'm sorry if this is already discussed somewhere.
I've been playing around with turtles for spawner purposses and after building a ender spawner i'm now finding myself having to program 38 turtles with the same program. Is there any way I can use the network to send the program to them (it's a pretty basic one but took me long enough to figure it out) and is there a place where I can piece togehter the code that will need to be written in that case?
Lyqyd #2
Posted 09 May 2013 - 05:09 PM
Split into new topic.
The_Awe35 #3
Posted 09 May 2013 - 06:35 PM
You can just use a disk drive and floppy disk (crafting recipes are on the wiki). set the disk drive next to the turtle with the code, and put the floppy in. then type "cp <file name> disk/<file name> " then, go to a new turtle. and set up the disk drive again. enter into the turtle "cd disk". then from there, enter "cp <filename> /disk" It should now be on the turtle. Repeat until all turtles have the code.
Jerreke #4
Posted 09 May 2013 - 06:56 PM
oke thank you i'll get that running then :)/>
H4X0RZ #5
Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:29 PM
Go to all turtles and type:

label set <something>
Into the shell, where <something> is a group.
P.S.: All turtles have to be in the same group!

Now (if you does that with all turtles), the program is on all turtles :)/>/>
Spongy141 #6
Posted 10 May 2013 - 02:45 AM
Sending a files over rednet? Simple…
Sender

fileName = {...}
rednet.open("right") --Change this is you want, make sure there is '' round the side...
file = fs.open(fileName[1],r')
rednet.broadcast(fileName[1])
fileData = file.readAll()
rednet.broadcast(fileData)
Receiver

rednet.open('right') --Again change the side if needed