This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
xWoody25's profile picture

Rednet Help

Started by xWoody25, 15 April 2012 - 03:32 AM
xWoody25 #1
Posted 15 April 2012 - 05:32 AM
Hi i am trying to make a program that allows me send a command to a wireless mining turtle from a computer, i am fairly new to the mod, i have only been using it for about 5 days and finding the redset command/program very hard, i'm fed up of making basic password doors and want a bigger challenge, thank you all very much.

p.s Please try to make it easy to understand from a noobs point of view :)/>/>
Luanub #2
Posted 15 April 2012 - 06:09 AM
Here's a simple example that will move a turtle forward 1 space. It should give you the general idea and you can go from there.

turtle

rednet.open("right") -- turn on the turtles modem
while true do -- infinite loop to keep the turtle "listening" for commands
local event, id, msg = os.pullEvent("rednet_message")  -- wait for a rednet message event
if msg == "forward" then -- check what the message/command was
turtle.forward() -- execute what the command was ordering done
end  -- end the if
end -- end the loop

Computer

rednet.open("side") -- change to the side your modem is on
shell.run("clear")
while true do
print ("Press Any Key to Send the Command") -- Build a menu to replace this with to do more stuff
os.pullEvent("key") -- wait for a key event
rednet.send("turtleID", "forward") -- change turtleID to your turtles ID or use rednet.broadcast("forward") to send the message to anything listening
end

Havent tried it but it should work.
xWoody25 #3
Posted 15 April 2012 - 04:07 PM
Here's a simple example that will move a turtle forward 1 space. It should give you the general idea and you can go from there.

turtle

local event, id, msg = os.pullEvent("rednet_message")  -- wait for a rednet message event
end  -- end the if
end -- end the loop

Computer

rednet.open("side") -- change to the side your modem is on