This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Pyro_'s profile picture

Logic error in my program

Started by Pyro_, 24 May 2013 - 10:28 AM
Pyro_ #1
Posted 24 May 2013 - 12:28 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, but also to Lua. I have extensive coding knowledge in other languages though, such as C, C++, Java…. so on, I'm sure you don't really care. In recent years I've taken some University (College, for Americans) classes as part of my Comp. Sci.; Comp. Sys. Eng. Double degree relating to all kinds of code structure, code practices, data structures, algorithm design… and what have you. So, my point is, I probably have and idea of what you're talking about if you want to be technical :)/>/>

Anyway, I find Lua a little bit hard to pick up on for the simple reason that it seems a little more like scripting rather than coding oriented language, and it has a fairly lax syntax / structure (no hate please).
So I just started out by writing this simple program that will dig a hole of your dimensions in the ground, and I have hit a logic bug, somewhere, I have commented in the code where I think it is. I'm not sure though, I'd prefer a second set of eyes to have a look at my code. Keep in mind though I plan to repurpose, reuse, refactor, and rebuild these basic sub-modules (sub-routines in Lua?) into more complicated programs later on, so you might see some code that *seems* useless for the implementation at the moment, but rest assured, it will be used very soon, or in rare cases in the current implementation.

So, here's the code, feel free to plonk it into minecraft and give it a try. I think the error is in the portion where it tries to resume it's digging once it has filled it's inventory.

(Probably easier to read in a program with syntax highlighting feature)
Spoiler

-- Will mine a hole in the ground

local tArgs = {...}
-- If incorrect no of args is given
if #tArgs ~= 2 then
print("Usage: hole <side length> <depth>")
return
end