This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
PixelBlocker's profile picture

[Lua] [Questioin] Why isn't this working?

Started by PixelBlocker, 17 April 2012 - 03:24 PM
PixelBlocker #1
Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:24 PM
Hey,
I am new to ComputerCraft and Lua but not at things like java/html/php/.net etc. So I know a lot of things I can use in Lua.

I am making a new api for a turtle and here is the code ive got:
function rails()
	x=0

turtle.up()
	while not turtle.detect() do
		while x >=0 and x < 10 do
			x = x+1
			turtle.select(1)
			turtle.placeDown()
			turtle.forward()
		end
		while x>9 and x <19 do
			x = x+1
			turtle.select(2)
			turtle.placeDown()
			turtle.forward()
		end

if x > 18 or x < 0 then
			x = 0
		end
	end
end
I want a turtle to place tracks. x is the amount of tracks need to be placed before switch to powered rails. 0 to 9 are normal tracks and 10 to 18 are booster rails.
My question is:
Why does it do everything but placing the tracks?

Thanks
cant_delete_account #2
Posted 17 April 2012 - 06:26 PM
Turtle's can't place rails, rails are items with metadatas, meaning they're a item, but on right click, it places the block at the X, Y, and Z position of the crosshair. Turtle's can't place items in the current version.
MysticT #3
Posted 17 April 2012 - 06:34 PM
The code seems to be fine, although I would change the variable x to a local one: local x = 0, but it should work anyway.
As you are checking if there's a block in front of the turtle, I suppose it's on the ground. If it is, that's the problem: you are trying to place the rails below the turtle, but there's already a block in there (the dirt, stone, whatever the turtle is on). Try changing the turtle.placeDown() to turtle.place(), that should fix the problem.