This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
SmirkNMerc's profile picture

Is There A Way To Get Maps To Display On A ComputerCraft Monitor?

Started by SmirkNMerc, 06 June 2013 - 09:05 AM
SmirkNMerc #1
Posted 06 June 2013 - 11:05 AM
I am a relative newbie to ComputerCraft and Lua so I am not aware if what I want to do is possible or not. What I'd like to do is create a navigation computer of sorts. I play the Direwolf20 pack and when I explore the map and find new villages I like to name and mark them with waypoints. Also I like to create a linking book from MystCraft so that I can travel quickly across the map to these locations. However as I explore the more books I create the more space I need within my base to display them. I had an idea to use turtles pull the books from an inventory and place the book of my desired destination as needed on to a book-stand or lectern. As I thought more about it I would love if I could create a monitor with a GUI where I could select a village that would be displayed on a map and a turtle would then place the corresponding book on the lectern. Is something like this at all possible to do? And if so what will I need to to achieve this?
Lyqyd #2
Posted 06 June 2013 - 08:09 PM
Split into new topic.
Bomb Bloke #3
Posted 06 June 2013 - 09:18 PM
I'm not familiar with MystCraft (been wanting to install it for the "coolness" of playing with it, but have yet to determine a practical reason to do so), but this sounds possible. The only question in my mind is whether a turtle can put a book on a lectern.

That, and how best to do it. You'd be looking at a fairly complex script, perhaps a fairly complex set of scripts, depending on how many books you're talking about.

You would need to firstly have a system to draw a map. That's pretty simple. You'd then need an additional table that keeps track of which locations have books associated with them.