This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
TheCursed_Donkey's profile picture

Need Help with far-controlled computers with rednet

Started by TheCursed_Donkey, 18 April 2012 - 08:21 AM
TheCursed_Donkey #1
Posted 18 April 2012 - 10:21 AM
HELLO! Im DonkeyzFTW an im a quite noob at computercraft… I need help with the rednet to controll my computer from another computer, if someone could help me with that :)/>/>
Luanub #2
Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:39 AM
First off read this so you kind of understand rednet http://www.computercraft.info/forums2/index.php?/topic/244-13-how-to-use-modems-rednet/

Next, using the rednet commands you will want to send a message to another computer and have that computer setup to where when it receives that message if performs a task.

Small example to turn a redstone signal on remotely.

Sending Computer:

rednet.open("side")
rednet.send(id, "redstoneOn")

Receiving Computer:

rednet.open("side")
id, msg = rednet.receive()
if msg == "redstoneOn" then
rs.setOutput("side", true)
end

Give it a shot, play around with it some and let us know when/if you run into problems with your code.
TheCursed_Donkey #3
Posted 18 April 2012 - 11:46 AM
Thank U :)/>/>
but dident work, i wrote:
39, msg = rednet.receive()
if msg == "OpenDoor" then
shell.run("open")
its the id number i think…
Luanub #4
Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:30 PM
Yeah you want to leave that id as just id.

id, msg = rednet.receive() –the var id in this command captures the first portion of the rednet message which is the senders id. So if you send a message from computer 1 saying "hello" and did the rednet.receive() on computer 2, id would == 1 and msg would == "hello".

rednet.send(id , "message") the id this command needs to be set to the computers id that you are sending the message to. so rednet.send(2, "hello")
Wolvan #5
Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:00 PM