This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Little Spazz's profile picture

Need Assistance with Warehouse Program

Started by Little Spazz, 18 June 2013 - 08:22 AM
Little Spazz #1
Posted 18 June 2013 - 10:22 AM
Okay. So I am fairly new to ComputerCraft, I've made two small programs in the past but have no idea where to start with my new project.

What I want to do is be able to put a computer in my warehouse, next to a large monitor, and for the monitor to display each barrel (from factorization), what is in it, and how many of said item there are.

My question is, How do I get a computer to read how many items there are in a barrel and then display the name of the item and the number of said item on a monitor? If this is on the forum already then I apologize, I couldn't find it.

I am pretty sure to get it to detect the item in the barrel, I am going to have to code for every item in the game. (which is fine) I just need to know where to start.

Now, I don't want the code written for me. I just would like to know where I should start/how to do the above. Any help, or links to helpful posts/videos, will be greatly appreciated.
Lyqyd #2
Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:40 AM
Split into new topic.
theoriginalbit #3
Posted 19 June 2013 - 09:51 AM
If you're able to install mods then I suggest you install

OpenPeripheral as it gives support for reading barrels
I think OpenCCSensors can do the same, but I'm not positive on that…

As it stands though, there is no vanilla way to read the counts of the barrels, or the items, so that will all be manually coded if you do not install the a mod to help you.
In order to do this manual coding you will need to know…

Tables (storing the data)
FS API (saving that data so it isn't forgotten over restarts
Textutils API (also saving the table data) in particular textutils.serialize and textutils.unserialize