This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
OutlawBlue9's profile picture

[Critique Request] Please tear apart my code!

Started by OutlawBlue9, 21 April 2012 - 06:06 AM
OutlawBlue9 #1
Posted 21 April 2012 - 08:06 AM
EDIT: Updated code down below! or http://pastebin.com/0ENkZaH1

The below post occurred in a separate [Question] thread but was OT a bit so I moved it to a new one. I started playing around with CC and Lua two days ago to re-teach me some coding basics. I first started coding 15 years ago when I made TI-83 games and utilities in middle school and then took two C++ courses in high school. Since then I haven't touched a compiler so I'm virtually starting from scratch. I decided to try my hand at creating what I intend to make a fairly indepth program that uses a wide variety of different programming techniques and functions in order to learn along the way. The program will act primarily as a user database with passwords and permissions unique to each user. Once logged in based on the permissions the user will eventually have access to a menu of options (open a specific door, send items through a different pipe, create new users, delete users, change password, etc etc). Currently it is in the fairly early stages but since OminousPenguin stepped up and gave me some advice in another thread I felt now was a good time as any to open the floor up to the professional's critiques and suggestions to make my code more efficient and quell any bad habits! One obvious thing: I know I am not defining any of my variables as local and this is generally bad practice but I'm using it as sort of a debug technique so once the program as crashed I can look behind the scenes using the lua program in CC to check variables / tables etc. If you have a better way of doing this let me know though but I do understand that unless necessary a variable should be defined as local! :)/>/> Also, I'm not necessarily asking you to just make my code bette