This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Theadictablock's profile picture

Message board help

Started by Theadictablock, 08 July 2013 - 09:35 AM
Theadictablock #1
Posted 08 July 2013 - 11:35 AM
Im new to this and am wanting to make a message board that shows todo list news ect i can figure out how to do that but how would i make that into different slides that change every so often

i was thinking somthing like after slide comes up use timer for 15 secs ish and then clear. then it would start printing again.
would that work and if so does anyone know the coding for that part.
:huh:/>
Theadictablock #2
Posted 08 July 2013 - 11:38 AM
Oh and how do you loop it and put it on monitor
Bubba #3
Posted 08 July 2013 - 12:11 PM
So you want something almost like a powerpoint?

Well I would do it like this:

1) Wrap the monitor using peripheral.wrap([side]). This returns an object which you can use to perform monitor actions. For example:

local monitor = peripheral.wrap("left")
monitor.clear()
monitor.setCursorPos(1,1)
monitor.write("Hello!")

The next thing you'll want to do is get an table of all the messages you'd like to display. If you're not familiar with tables, here's an example:

local myDisplayStuff = {
  [1] = "Welcome to [x]! We hope you enjoy your stay, and please - abide by the rules.";
  [2] = "TODO - Finish the outer wall.";
  [3] = "TODO - Rebuilld the giant stadium.";
}

Finally, you'll want to get some code that displays that text in a way that looks good. You could go about this in several ways. The easiest one would be to simply center it on the screen. However, the issue with that is that on occasion you will have text that is too long to center and it will bleed off the screen. If you encounter such a case, you'll have to check each item and wrap it to the next line.

If you want to center text on the screen, click the spoiler below.
SpoilerHere's an example of centering: