This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
busterbluth's profile picture

How can I determine if I installed Computercraft correctly?

Started by busterbluth, 02 September 2013 - 05:09 PM
busterbluth #1
Posted 02 September 2013 - 07:09 PM
Title: How can I determine if I installed Computercraft correctly?

I am new to Minecraft as well as Computercraft. My son introduced me to Computercraft and I am now trying to install it and learn it as it looks very interesting (and I write code for a living and work frequently in a Unix environment).

I am on a Mac (OS 10.8.4), am running Minecraft 1.6.2, had trouble finding instructions specific to my setup, but the following is what I did in an attempt to install Computercraft:

1. from the terminal prompt: cd ~/desktop
2. mkdir ADD_MOD_FILES
3. cd ADD_MOD_FILES
4. jar xf ~/library/Application\ support/minecraft/versions/1.6.2/1.6.2.jar (I don't have a ../minecraft/bin folder like most of the instructions reference)
5. copied the Computercraft files from the Download folder into the desktop folder ADD_MOD_FILES
6. cd ~/desktop/ADD_MOD_FILES
7. manually deleted META-INF folder from this directory.
8. jar uf ~/library/application\ support/minecraft/versions/1.6.2/1.6.2.jar ./
9. run Minecraft

I also edited my profile, checking the game directory path and pointing it to: /Users/clay_wells/Library/Application Support/minecraft/versions/1.6.2.

I tried following the instructions here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrUHUhfCY5A - to build a computer, but when I put the components together on the Craft Table, nothing happened. I assume this means that Computercraft isn't installed correctly or isn't recognized. Minecraft runs without crashing, but I can't get the computer to build like the guy in the video tutorial does.

Any help/advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

BB
DaGamer12345 #2
Posted 02 September 2013 - 09:48 PM