This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
toblerone321's profile picture

Rednet Cable .send/.broadcast mixup?

Started by toblerone321, 22 September 2013 - 12:01 PM
toblerone321 #1
Posted 22 September 2013 - 02:01 PM
I am relatively new to computercraft and I have set up 8 airport boards connected to 1 Computer(the server) with bundled cable. I know that this is not the best thing to use but due to the long distance and low altitude I have to use it. I would like to be able to output separate messages on separate boards, and I thought I had it working, however, when I send a message via rednet to one computer controlling one board, the same message appears on all 8 boards? Why is this?

Server code:
function main()
  term.clear()
  term.setCursorPos(1,1)
  rednet.open("top")
  print("Airport Gate Screen Server booting...")
  os.sleep(3)
  print("Please enter the screen ID to change")
  id = tonumber(read())
  print("Please enter flight # & location")
  message = read()
  rednet.send(id,message)
  main()
end
main()

(The server ID is 44)

Board client code:
function rednetreceive()
  rednet.open("front")
  id,message = rednet.receive()
  if id == 44 then
   screen()
  end
end
function screen()
  size = 1
  side = "back"
  mon = peripheral.wrap(side)
  mon.setTextScale(size)
  mon.setCursorPos(9,3)
  mon.clear()
  mon.write(message)
  local cX,cY = mon.getCursorPos()
  mon.setCursorPos(1,cY+2)
  mon.write("Departure expected: **:**")
  rednetreceive()
end
rednetreceive()
screen()
rednetreceive()

It is probably something stupid, but please take a look. thanks!
Lyqyd #2
Posted 22 September 2013 - 02:22 PM
Split into new topic.
Grim Reaper #3
Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:39 PM