This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Bob3104558's profile picture

Toggle-able redstone using button api

Started by Bob3104558, 22 October 2013 - 02:07 PM
Bob3104558 #1
Posted 22 October 2013 - 04:07 PM
Title: Toggle-able redstone using button api

I am a newb when it comes to computers, basically I am using dw20's button api and his demo program. I want to be able to push a button which will toggle my t5 soul cage spawner hooked to another computer.

I already have the receiving computer set so when it gets the text "on" it will not output redstone to the cage and when it gets the word "off" it will output redstone thus turning off the spawner. Basically I want a function so that when i click the button it will toggle the redstone on the other computer, so sending the words "on" or "off" which sounds like a bad way to do it. I haven't been able to find any other programs that would do this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I would even be fine with a program that has 2 buttons 1 for off and 1 for on as long as its easy to tell whether the spawner is on or not
ATMunn #2
Posted 22 October 2013 - 08:51 PM
You can do something like this:

local state = 0
function toggleOutput()
local sendID, msg, distance = rednet.receive()
if msg == "toggle" and state == 0 then
rs.setOutput("right", true)
state = 1
end
if msg == "toggle" and state == 1 then
rs.setOutput("right", false)
state = 0
end
end

This should make it so that when the computer is sent the message "toggle" it will toggle the redstone signal to the right (you can change that to any side you want). Make sure that "local state = 0" goes BEFORE "function toggleOutput", or else it will always be on and never toggle.

Hope this helped!
campicus #3
Posted 22 October 2013 - 09:25 PM
*false not flase
ATMunn #4
Posted 23 October 2013 - 01:16 PM
*false not flase
Oops, typo!
jay5476 #5
Posted 24 October 2013 - 12:12 AM