This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
xasuma's profile picture

Very simple Tunneling program Question

Started by xasuma, 03 December 2013 - 09:00 PM
xasuma #1
Posted 03 December 2013 - 10:00 PM
Hi, this is my very first program.
It's purpose is to make a 3x3 tunnel to whatever length you tell it to. The features it should have as of now are: Place torches every 9 cycles, check for fuel and refuel when you have less than 80 fuel left, tell you how much fuel you have periodically.

The part that I can't get to work is to place torches. Everything else works as planned for now.
Here is the pastebin: http://pastebin.com/L4qXba4D

The code might not be efficient, but its my first attempt. Thanks!
himdo #2
Posted 04 December 2013 - 06:24 AM
the problem is inside :

function placeTorch()

torch = 0

if torch == 3 then
turtle.turnLeft()
turtle.turnLeft()
turtle.select(2)
turtle.place()
turtle.turnLeft()
turtle.turnLeft()
torch = 0
else
torch = torch + 1
end

end

what happens is that as soon as you use that function it turns torch into 0 nomatter what it was at before. what i would do to fix this is type

function placeTorch(torch)
if torch == 3 then
turtle.turnLeft()
turtle.turnLeft()
turtle.select(2)
turtle.place()
turtle.turnLeft()
turtle.turnLeft()
torch = 0
else
torch = torch + 1
end
return torch
end

and at the very top of your program declare torch as 0.
then whenever you all the funchtion call it as
torch = placeTorch(torch)
that should work
Buho #3
Posted 04 December 2013 - 10:19 AM
Does cycle() work? My reading has it starting at the bottom-center of the future 3x3 area but finishing at the center-center of the 3x3 area.

placeTorch() doesn't work because the variable torch is always 0 at line 40. Also, what slot holds the torch? Let's assume slot 1 holds a maximum of 64 torches:

function placeTorch()
    --Turtle starts here at center of 3x3 area facing forward
    --Torches in slot 1
    turtle.turnLeft()