This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
xXSmugMafiaXx's profile picture

Why won't my branch miner work?

Started by xXSmugMafiaXx, 09 December 2013 - 09:37 PM
xXSmugMafiaXx #1
Posted 09 December 2013 - 10:37 PM
The code: http://pastebin.com/tXjJ7HFC

It just gives me an error that there's an unusual symbol on line 17. How could I fix this? Is there anything else wrong with the code? This is my first program for computer craft, so I'm pretty new to lua. Any suggestions would help, thanks.
HurricaneCoder #2
Posted 10 December 2013 - 12:03 AM
I know your mistake because your answer variable is a string therefore you must set your distance = to a string for it to work. this is how you do it. line 17 where it said distance you need to put :

until tostring("distance") == answer
HurricaneCoder #3
Posted 10 December 2013 - 12:12 AM
I know your mistake because your answer variable is a string therefore you must set your distance = to a string for it to work. this is how you do it. line 17 where it said distance you need to put :

there is a lot of things wrong with this code

local distance = 0
local answer = 0
local answer2 = 0

function intro()
		print ("hello, how long would you like the tunnel to be?")
		answer = read()
		print ("how many strips?")
		answer2 = read()
		print ("starting...")
end

function strips()
repeat						   ----------------------repeat loop needs no end
		dig()
		distance = distance + 1
until distance == answer				  -------------- until tostring(distance) == answer
		turn.back()
  end								  ------------------ so this end is not suppose to be here
end

function dig()
  turtle.dig()
  turtle.forward()
  turtle.digUp()
end

function next()
		turtle.turnRight()
		turtle.forward()
		turtle.forward()
		turtle.turnRight()
end

function turn.back()			  ---------------- nil function you need to have turnBack you can't have a period
  turtle.turnRight()
  turtle.turnRight()