This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Raptus_'s profile picture

Intruder Alert Monitor Program

Started by Raptus_, 20 December 2013 - 04:15 PM
Raptus_ #1
Posted 20 December 2013 - 05:15 PM
Okay, so I'm trying to make a computercraft monitor program that will display "INTRUDER ALERT" on the monitor when it receives a redstone signal from the back of the computer operating the monitor. When it isn't receiving a signal, it should display "No Emergency Signals". I'm not very good with building programs at all..the most I can do normally are basic ones like locking programs. All I want is some suggestion on how to make this work. I don't need it to be complicated at all.

Error I'm recieving:

(program name):2: bad argument: string expected, got nil

mon = peripheral.wrap("left")
if redstone.getInput(back) == true then
mon.clear()
mon.setCursorPos(2,2)
mon.setTextScale(1)
mon.write('INTRUDER ALERT")
mon.sleep(60)
else
mon.clear()
mon.setCursorPos(2,2)
mon.setTextScale(1)
mon.write("No Emergency Signals")
end
Bomb Bloke #2
Posted 20 December 2013 - 11:10 PM
Without quotes around it, the word "back" you've got on line two is treated as a variable. Since you've never assigned a value to the variable called "back", that means it's nil. You can't pass nil to the redstone.getInput() function.

That is to say, what you meant was 'if redstone.getInput("back") == true then'.

A few other points: "If" statements are already checking to see if your conditional resolves to "true" or not. Checking to see if the function returns "true" yourself is hence redundant. 'if redstone.getInput("back") then' is perfectly valid.

There is no 'mon.sleep(60)'. Just use 'sleep(60)'.