This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Epoch86's profile picture

Routers and Turtles

Started by Epoch86, 28 December 2013 - 10:33 AM
Epoch86 #1
Posted 28 December 2013 - 11:33 AM
I'm setting up a Factorization Router/Barrel Sorting system and I'd like to have a turtle pull out any items that get "Stuck" in the router. I have little knowledge about LUA coding so I was gonna ask here for a program that would work. I need the turtle to basically scan the router, and if an item stays in the inventory for longer than 3 seconds to pull it out and place the item in a chest above the turtle. The placement needs to be like the picture below. Thanks in advance.
Buho #2
Posted 28 December 2013 - 12:30 PM
Search Google for Lua syntax or see the tutorials on this website and forum.

For specific turtle functions, search Google for "turtle api" which gets you this: http://computercraft.info/wiki/Turtle_%28API%29

Specifically, you'll probably want turtle.suckUp() to get stuff from the blue chest and turtle.dropDown() to place in the black chest. To wait three seconds, you'll want os.sleep(3).

That'll get you moving in the right direction. Happy coding!
Epoch86 #3
Posted 28 December 2013 - 01:53 PM
Thanks for the reply Buho. But how would i get the turtle to detect that there is an item in the router below it and, if there is an item, to wait 3 seconds before it sucks it out. So it would be like, detect item in inventory below, wait 3, suck item. And if the item gets pulled out before the timer is finished to reset.
Im using a turtle for a Factorization Router Sorting System and I need the turtle to pull out an item from the router if it gets jammed.
Edited on 28 December 2013 - 12:55 PM
Farrk #4
Posted 28 December 2013 - 03:14 PM