This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
shadowst17's profile picture

Telling a turtle to tunnel form a computer

Started by shadowst17, 11 February 2014 - 01:24 PM
shadowst17 #1
Posted 11 February 2014 - 02:24 PM
This is driving me insane, i'm a complete idiot when it comes to this stuff and i cant figure out how to send the correct code to get the turtle to tunnel. i;ve tried

turtle
rednet.open("right")
rednet.receive()

computer
rednet.broadcast("shell.run("tunnel", 4)")

the turtle gets it and gives me strange few numbers but doesn't actually make it tunnel.

Also while i'm asking question how would i go about making it return again, i guess i could make another program that i can run that makes it turns around but is there a way to edit the actual tunnel program so it does this automatically?
CometWolf #2
Posted 11 February 2014 - 02:50 PM
I have no experience with the built in tunnel program, but dosen't it return on it's own already? Anyways, your understanding of rednet is way off base. Everything sent and received through rednet will be a string. In short this means it's just a piece of text, not a program, not a piece of code for your turtle to execute. What you need to do instead in this case, is this
turtle

rednet.open"right"
local _id,msg = rednet.receive() -- rednet.receive returns 3 variables, the first is the sender ID, the second is the message, and the thrid is the distance from the receiver to the sender. We want the 2nd one, so i'll save that to the variable msg
shell.run(msg) -- note how im passing the result of rednet.receive to the function shell.run on the turtle, instead of trying to send the function itself
computer

rednet.open"whatever side it's on"
rednet.broadcast"tunnel 4"
CMaster #3
Posted 11 February 2014 - 02:52 PM
All that rednet does is send a string (in the next update, also numbers and tables. For now, if you want to send a table, you have to use textutils.serialize())