This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Dustmuz's profile picture

Activating prog 2 inside prog 1

Started by Dustmuz, 21 March 2014 - 05:28 AM
Dustmuz #1
Posted 21 March 2014 - 06:28 AM
Hello All kind Minecrafters

i am rather new to the LUA coding.
but been able to make my tortle lay a path and refuel for me.

is it possible to make different programs on the turtle, that it activates, if a certain condition is met
example

if the turtle is running low on fuel
it should activate the refuel program

if its running out of marble (what i use to lay my path with) it returns to the beginning of the path, and activates a restock program

what im asking for here, is the code segment for activating a program, inside a program (if that is possible)

atm i got 3 different programsm that i would like to make into one compiled program,
so that it is easier to find errors in a program.

used this method ALOT when i programmed industrial robots, so i was hoping i could do the same here

a great thanks before hand and i hope you all have a good time :)/>
Thomas
CometWolf #2
Posted 21 March 2014 - 02:40 PM
Sure, that's easy. Use shell.run("/programPath"). You can also pass it any arguments you want, by seperating them from the path with a comma. When the secondary program ends, the original one will proceed from where it left off.

I suppose it will work fine, but the more common approach is using functions. Unless we're talking very large programs here. In which case it's probably better to use loadfile("/path"). Provided your files are set up correctly, it can be used to load functions, tables or variables from other files.
Dustmuz #3
Posted 21 March 2014 - 03:24 PM
Sure, that's easy. Use shell.run("/programPath"). You can also pass it any arguments you want, by seperating them from the path with a comma. When the secondary program ends, the original one will proceed from where it left off.