This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
JoePwnz's profile picture

[Turtle] Auto refuel via Enderchest.

Started by JoePwnz, 06 April 2014 - 08:14 PM
JoePwnz #1
Posted 06 April 2014 - 10:14 PM
Dear Community,
im quite new to the Lua coding, and never did coding before thats why im asking you guys..
i just made a Farming turtle and got it running with a refuel command n stuff.. just a basic code
for refuelling, with if fuel is less then 10 = refuel and i want to automate it with enderchest..
what i want to do is something like

when the turtle checks for fuel there should be a situation where the turtle runs out of the selected slot
and detects it.. Then it should place a enderchest above take a bit coal out, pick up the chest and continue with Farming

Sorry for my bad english tho im from Germany :)/>

Greets from JoePwnz!

I would love to hear a answer!
CometWolf #2
Posted 06 April 2014 - 10:36 PM
This is pretty simple, just tell the turtle to select the enderchest slot with turtle.select(), then place it using turtle.place(). Once the chest is in place use turtle.suck() to suck items out of it, then use turtle.refuel to use those items for refueling. Idk how good you need this functionality wise, but you might want to check the block you wanna place it in using turtle.detect() beforehand to confirm that the turtle can actually place it and such.

Here's a function from my own api for just such a thing. Keep in mind that it uses openP to acess specific slots of the enderchest though. You can't do that with vanilla CC.
Spoiler

function enderRestock(enderSlot,tTurtleSlots,tEnderSlots)
  --puts down an ender chest from the slot (enderSlot), then attempts to restock the
  --turtle slots in the table tTurtleSlots with the chest slots in tEnderSlots
  turtle.select(enderSlot)
  local _dir,chestDir = findSpace(true)
  --locate open space for ender chest
  if chestDir then
	local pushDir = tNumHeading[dirStandardize("-"..chestDir)]