This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Farinhir's profile picture

HELP: trying to modify my first program to be more dynamic with peripherals

Started by Farinhir, 11 April 2014 - 10:12 AM
Farinhir #1
Posted 11 April 2014 - 12:12 PM
Hello. So I will say that I am a total noob when it comes to lua. I have modified code here and there with some trial and error, but finally sat down and wrote something from scratch. It works as intended, but I have decided I want to improve its functionality.

Purpose of the code. It reads the energy in my energycells and sends a redstone signal to my laser drill when power gets below a certain level. When the power recovers it shuts off the signal and allows the drill to activate again.

Here is my code. All but the round() function are originally by myself. I am actually proud of the work I did, but I have hit a wall with how I want to modify this code.
Spoiler

--  * Variables *

c00 = peripheral.wrap("cofh_thermal_expansion_energycell_2")  -- wrap first energycell
c01 = peripheral.wrap("cofh_thermal_expansion_energycell_3")  -- wrap second energycell

local cur0 = 0 -- variable for later use
local cur1 = 0 -- variable for later use
local pct0 = 0 -- variable for later use
local pct1 = 0 -- variable for later use
local overallPCT = 0 -- variable for later use
local max0 = c00.getMaxEnergyStored("unknown")  -- variable for finding the % of energy
local max1 = c01.getNaxEnergyStored("unknown")  -- see above

-- * Define functions

local function getStored() -- updates

cur0 = c00.getEnergyStored("unknown")
cur1 = c01.getEnergyStored("unknown")

end

local function round(num, idp) -- round function I found on the lua pages

if idp and idp > 0 then
	local mult = 10^idp
	return math.floor(num * mult + 0.5) / mult
  end
  return math.floor(num + 0.5)

end

local function pct()  -- calculates the percent of energy stored in the cells

getStored()
  pct0 = round(cur0 / max0 * 100, 2)