This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
marceloclp's profile picture

Calling a program through rednet?

Started by marceloclp, 30 April 2014 - 07:04 PM
marceloclp #1
Posted 30 April 2014 - 09:04 PM
Hi. I am new to the ComputerCraft APIs (and LUA). Basically, I want to create a server between all my turtles and computers, where I'll have a main computer where I can call the turtles to execute programs.

My question is: is there any way I can create a program that allows me to call other programs? Like this:

I execute the main program on my main computer. All my turtles have the rednet on, but they aren't running any program at the moment. So I type, for example, the label of the turtle and name of the program, on my main computer, and the turtle will run that program.

And, since I already created this topic, allow me to ask another question: is there any way to make a program execute automatically when you load the chunk or log in to the game?d
CometWolf #2
Posted 30 April 2014 - 09:51 PM
Are your programs stored on the turtles already, or only on the main computer? It get's a little more involved depending on your answer.
You can make a computer run any program when it boots, by naming that program startup and putting it in the root folder. Usually most computers that were running when they were unloaded, will essentially reboot whenever they're reloaded.
electrodude512 #3
Posted 30 April 2014 - 10:40 PM
You can have a process running in the background using multishell or some daemon thingy that receives programs over rednet and then runs them (optionally saving them to disk).
CometWolf #4
Posted 30 April 2014 - 11:05 PM
Nothing fancy like that is required, just a simple override of pullEvent loaded at startup will do
Agoldfish #5
Posted 01 May 2014 - 12:12 AM
(and LUA).
It's Lua.
marceloclp #6
Posted 01 May 2014 - 12:43 AM