This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
technomancer21's profile picture

Server RAM usage monitor program

Started by technomancer21, 07 May 2014 - 07:53 AM
technomancer21 #1
Posted 07 May 2014 - 09:53 AM
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to this LUA scripting and to be completely honest, I dont even know where to begin with this, Not even sure if i'm posting in the right forum, If i'm in the wrong place could a mod please move the thread?

I've seen bukkit plugins that report the current RAM usage of the server they are installed on and I wondered if it might be possible to do something similar with a computer, and display the current RAM usage as a percentage on a large monitor in game.

If a bukkit plugin can gather and relay such data to someone who inputs a server command, can a computer not find and relay the same data and refresh the display every five minutes?

Its for a server I play on that has limited ram, 1.5gb, and everyone is always jumping up and down about crashing the server simply because they cannot tell how much is in use. only the admin can and he has his hands full elsewhere, often doesn't have time to check it for us.

Any advice at all would be helpful if someone here knows of something that might help please. :D/>
CometWolf #2
Posted 07 May 2014 - 08:17 PM
Only way this would be doable was if the server reported it's ram usage on a http website, which the computer could then retrieve the information from. However, this is just plain silly. Tell the admin to add the permission node "essentials.gc" to everyone. It's what enables him to check it.
viluon #3
Posted 07 May 2014 - 08:30 PM
A good place to start with Lua is definitely Programming In Lua (freely available online here http://www.lua.org/pil/contents.html )
technomancer21 #4
Posted 09 May 2014 - 08:49 AM