This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
xXAdamXx's profile picture

Printers + Program... can it work?

Started by xXAdamXx, 21 May 2014 - 12:28 AM
xXAdamXx #1
Posted 21 May 2014 - 02:28 AM
Hi,
So im a newb to lua, and Im making a comments feature that will print to the specified printer (Back printer.)
The not will travel by hoppers, to the chest.

Here is my code.
os.pullEvent = os.pullEventRaw

monitor.write("Bla Bla Bla") –not shown for Obvious Reasons. also, How do i seperate these 2?
print("NONOnon") –Again, Not shown
print("This is the last one")

local input == ANN then
term.clear()
local input = read()

print(""..input) –I want this to be Where it prints!
Lyqyd #2
Posted 21 May 2014 - 03:43 AM
I removed the unnecessary poll.
awsmazinggenius #3
Posted 21 May 2014 - 05:09 AM
Provide more context. How are your peripherals set up? Whee is your printer. What is with the monitor? Why do you have "then" after your variable decleration?
BlockSmith #4
Posted 21 May 2014 - 08:04 AM
Let me try to break this down a little and see if my understanding is correct. If not, what I see may enlighten you on where you're code is going wrong. There isn't much here to go off of.
os.pullEvent = os.pullEventRaw –To keep people from terminating the program

monitor.write("Bla Bla Bla") –not shown for Obvious Reasons. also, How do i seperate these 2?

– What are you trying to separate? There is a monitor.write() function with a string variable used as parameters.

print("NONOnon") –Again, Not shown –Print function with a string parameter
print("This is the last one") –Print function with a string parameter

local input == ANN then –This is an improper conditional. This line says, "local input is equal to ANN" with an unneeded then at the end. Also, unless "ANN" is declared somewhere else that you haven't posted, then it is an undeclared variable and is equal to nil

term.clear() – this clears the screen