This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Faneadar's profile picture

Question about a door lock program.

Started by Faneadar, 22 May 2014 - 01:13 PM
Faneadar #1
Posted 22 May 2014 - 03:13 PM
I've downloaded and setup a program called TangentLock v.4 by Tangentdelta. (http://pastebin.com/GmrdsdPR)

The script works fine and does what it says but for some reason it allows the user the exit the program by CTRL + T. So, the user is able to list and edit the program and get the password from the code.

What should I add to this code so that it will not allow user to terminate the program?

Thanks.
J-Nutz #2
Posted 22 May 2014 - 03:35 PM
Faneader

I my self am pretty new to the whole ComputerCraft stuff but I am pretty sure It has something to do with the os.pullEvent()

You are going to want to change it from

os.pullEvent()

to

os.pullEventRaw()

As I said I am pretty new to Lua so I could be completely wrong and I apologize in advance if I am! :D/>
Edited on 22 May 2014 - 01:37 PM
Faneadar #3
Posted 22 May 2014 - 03:55 PM
No problem, thank you for trying.

I understand your suggestion but there is no os.pullEvent() function in the code, so I don't know what to replace actually.
CometWolf #4
Posted 22 May 2014 - 04:08 PM
While your answer is correct, you should probably read the code next time. He doesn't use os.pullEvent, but rahter io.read which calls os.pullEvent. What he instead needs to do is overwrite the global os.pullEvent with the global os.pullEventRaw, thereby overwriting the one io.read uses.

Put this at the top

local pullBack = os.pullEvent --backup the old function
os.pullEvent = os.pullEventRaw --override to prevent termination
Then put this at the part where the password has been entered correctly

os.pullEvent = pullBack --restore original to enable termination again
Faneadar #5
Posted 22 May 2014 - 06:30 PM
Thanks for clarifying the issue CometWolf, your code solved the problem.