This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Ange1ofD4rkness's profile picture

Reading A Line From The Screen (need help)

Started by Ange1ofD4rkness, 31 May 2012 - 09:44 PM
Ange1ofD4rkness #1
Posted 31 May 2012 - 11:44 PM
First of all thanks for anyone who can help me with my problem here.

Anyway, I am new to lua, but not to programming. Currently I am working on a program that will work as a password protected door, but can also accepts redstone input as what you might say are fail safes for the door (or changes in state).

The program is meant to work off a series of events as seen is this beginning version of the code (I am working on a new version and this is the base of it, and where my problem lies).

function main()

while true do
	doorColor()
	event, param1 = os.pullEvent()

if event == "key" and param1 == 28 then
	   --(press enter key)
	   if doorColorLock == false then --(okay to open)
		  term.clear()
		  term.setCursorPos(1,1)
	   end
   end

if event == "redstone" and param1 == "top" then
	   --(reactor problem signal)
	   doorColor()
   end

if event == "redstone" and param1 == "back" then
	   --(lock down signal)
	   doorColor()
   end
end

end

So what this computer will be doing is the following
  • Recieve a signal from a restone source (wireless), if this redstone signal is true, lock the door, and display a message (as well as a few other things).
  • Recieve from another redstone source (wireless), with the same function as the first (just triggered by something else).
  • Determine the state of the door (open or closed, which is determined by another redstone source) and display a message based on the state. If the door is closed it asks for a password, if opened a y/n command.
  • If the the door is closed/opened from the other side then change the message and such as mentioned in bullet point 3.