This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
HugoCoin's profile picture

simple program help

Started by HugoCoin, 14 July 2014 - 03:35 PM
HugoCoin #1
Posted 14 July 2014 - 05:35 PM
I am new to computercraft and i searched for a long time but i couldn't find out how to make a program that checks for 2 signals (left and right) and then puts out from the back, repeats. i play in a modpack with no color cables. could someone explain how to do that?
i also want to make a system where turtles check for blocks above them and if its gone they send a signal to another turtle which then puts out redstone. can someone help me?
hilburn #2
Posted 15 July 2014 - 12:48 AM
Is there any particular reason why you want another computer in the middle to send the signal back? I mean.. a piece of redstone can send a "high" signal around a corner.

However if it has to be a computer, try something like this:

while true do
	os.pullEvent("redstone")
	if rs.getInput("left") or rs.getInput("right") then
		rs.setOutput("back",true)
	end
	--wasnt sure if you wanted it to pulse high or just go high while one of the inputs was high, so if you want a pulse, uncomment the next couple of lines
	--sleep(0.5) change this to change the pulse length
	--rs.setOutput("back",false)
end

However I really do highly recommend using just basic redstone for something like this
Edited on 14 July 2014 - 10:49 PM
KingofGamesYami #3
Posted 15 July 2014 - 02:46 AM
For double signals:

while true do --#infinite loop
  os.pullEvent( "redstone" )  --#wait for redstone change
  if rs.getInput( "left" ) and rs.getInput( "right" ) then  --#check the inputs
    rs.setOutput( "back", true ) --#toggle redstone
    sleep( 0.5 )
    rs.setOutput( "back", false )
  end
end
For turtle checking:

rednet.open( "left" ) --#assuming modem is on the left
while true do --#infinate loop
  if not turtle.detectUp() then --#checking for *not* block
    rednet.broadcast( "rs", "rs" ) --#send message