This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
graywolf69's profile picture

Need Help making a Base Control Terminal

Started by graywolf69, 25 July 2014 - 04:52 PM
graywolf69 #1
Posted 25 July 2014 - 06:52 PM
Ok, I am COMPLETELY new to computer craft, aside from I have watched a couple lets plays using this mod and know that this is possible. What I want to do is a pretty simple concept: for example, I have mods like ICBM, MFFS (modular forcefields), applied energistics, wireless redstone, and a whole bunch of useful stuff on the server I play on with my friend. I had an idea to make a computer terminal in some kind of war planning room/bunker that can basically control my whole base: I can launch a rocket by typing in "Launch Silo A" or something, turn on/off my base power by typing "PowerOffBase", turn my force field on/off, ext. All from 1 terminal. If anyone has the time and knowledge to explain how I can make these commands and more, I would be very thankful. Also, would it be helpful for me to install project:red to be able to use bundled cable? Im just using standard minecraft redstone and wireless redstone at the moment. Thanks for the help!

EDIT: Also I want to make it so this is all on a floppy disk, which i can eject at any time just in case, also I want to add passwords to certain commands (for example after running "Launch Silo A" it outputs "Enter Password" and when you enter the password it either runs the command or outputs, "Wrong Password" and gives you another opportunity.
Edited on 25 July 2014 - 06:14 PM
hilburn #2
Posted 25 July 2014 - 09:00 PM
Where to begin… actually where to begin is easy, this page http://computercraft.info/wiki/Category:APIs contains all of the commands you can use in CC, it is important, if you are serious about learning to code you will probably have the whole thing memorised pretty soon